StepBet: An Experiment and Ongoing Review of a Promising New App (Part 1: Days 1-2)

stepbet1 stepbet2

Damn right, StepBet! Since I’m endorsing you guys by writing this post and bestowing it with the word “promising” in the kind title, you guys should hook me up… with a verbal high five in the comments or somethin’.

StepBet is an app you can download on your phone. I found it the other day while I was looking through the partner apps for S Health on my Samsung Galaxy S7 (S Health is a step counter app with a few other perks). The idea is genius. You and a group of people from around the world (who also have access to this app) walk and get paid for it.

Well, it’s not that simple, but that’s the simplistic premise. StepBet syncs with either S Health, FitBit or Google Fit. When you sign up for StepBet, you join a ‘game’ with other people. Among every person, there’s a pot. To enter the game, you pay a certain amount (I’ve only seen $40) and each person’s $40 goes into the total pot. Usually games last for six weeks (a warmup week where you cannot be eliminated is included in the beginning). Each week, you must meet your active goals four times along with two ‘stretch’ days (which are days where you step goals are increased a little bit). You get one offday per week where you don’t need or have to meet your step goal.

What determines your step goals is your past history with the app that you are using to sync with StepBet. From what I’ve read, you must have one week of history of use with the app you are using. My goals for the entire game are, for my active days 7,060 steps and for my stretch days 9,360 steps.

If you complete your goals each week for the duration of the game, not only do you get your $40 back, but you gain a share of the pot. I joined the group “Super Steppers”. There are 1,286 people in the game, and the pot is $51,440. I’m not sure how much I’ll win of that pot in the end, but I will report back here when the time comes. If you fail to reach your step goals, you are not only out of the game but out $40. My main motivation is to keep my $40. It’s a mild adrenaline rush.

I can’t afford to lose my $40 right now. At the moment, $40 is a good bit of money to me. I know I can complete this challenge; I have all the opportunities to do so, right here at home. Yesterday was day one, and I already completed 1,500 steps in my room. By the time I got home from class and the grocery store, I’d already almost hit 5,000 steps. I walked 14,952 steps yesterday, reaching one of my stretch days for the week.

I’ll write another update in a couple weeks and a final update at the end of the game to report back on my thoughts and how well I did to conclude the review.

(Note: I am not affiliated with StepBet in any way. This is an objective user reported review in order to provide feedback for other prospective users that are interested in the StepBet app.)

Leave a Reply

